Random

(Disclaimer: This post will be a random conglomeration of things that have been going on lately.  We are still adjusting to becoming a family of 4 and loving every minute of it)

My second week back to work is now coming to a close and it has been an easier transition than I thought.  I was able to come back and not stress about work that hadn’t gotten done, my co-workers were amazing and kept everything caught up for me!  (Thanks Melissa and Christa!!) On the other hand, getting back into gear in terms of getting ready in the morning is another story.  I didn’t realize how hard it would be to get ready when you are breastfeeding.  But I think after nearly two weeks I finally have the hang of it.   It is still hard to leave her in the morning because I miss waking up and spending the whole day with her and Owen, but I am sure that will pass with time.  I still get to cuddle with my babies after work :). 

I don’t know if it is because I am more experienced this time around or what, but I have found breastfeeding to be a lot easier with Evie.  She eats better than Owen did for one and she eats faster.  I can be done nursing in 15 minutes or less!  My goal for now is to at least breast feed until she is 6 months old, I am fairly certain I will be able to accomplish this which makes me a very happy mommy. 

Remember last year around this time? I was training to run my first half marathon, and I completed it mid-October in a time of 2 hrs and 45 minutes.  My wonderful cousins ran it with me, and by with me I mean miles ahead of me ;), but we were in it together.  Afterwards I informed everyone that I would never do that again and that it was a stupid idea in the first place.  But I did it and I was proud of myself.   As most of you know, things change…  I have forgotten what it feels like to torture your body for 13.1 miles straight, so I have signed up to run the Indy 500 Mini-Marathon in May. 

I am quite unsure why I did this, but I have decided that I am determined to beat my time and at least finish under 2 hrs and 30 minutes.  We shall see.  On a lighter note, all this running has helped me to lose all of my baby weight from Evie and a bit of the weight I had left over from Owen, although I still have some to go.  It’s funny how when you have children you realize more than ever how you need to keep in shape and take care of your body, more for them than you. 

Tyler has also set a fitness goal of sorts, he is getting ready to go through Phase Training to become a level 1 instructor at Krav Maga Indy.  Phase starts this Saturday and ends Friday, and it is an all day training.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with Krav check out the link above.  But in short it is a highly intense cardio workout similar to mma style fighting.  It not only gets you in shape but teaches you useful self-defense techniques with real-world scenarios.  I love working out there and the Krav instructors have become somewhat of an extended family for us.  I am very excited for Tyler because I know he loves training there and he is a great teacher, so this just seemed to fit.

Owen and Evie have also been doing very well since I returned to work.  Owen loves going to his grandma and grandpa’s house every morning and really likes it when the kids get home from school.  He can now carry on full conversations with you so when I ask him what he did he will go into detailed explanations that normally end with “Georgia is nice.”  He is also learning some new and interesting phrases.  For example, the other day I asked him to pick up his blocks so I could sweep.  He said, “Ok mommy,” then sat down to do just that.  After about a minute he looked up at me and said ‘Mommy, me lazy,” and stopped picking up his blocks.  I just looked at him for a minute while what he just said sunk in…I have no idea where he picked that one up.  I said you are not lazy, now pick up your blocks.  He sighed one of those if I have to sighs and finished picking them up.  Then when I asked if he wanted to go to grandpa’s house in the morning and see Brooks and Georgia he said “Um, Yeah! Excited!”  Don’t know where he got that one either but I like his enthusiasm.  🙂  Evie has been doing very well too, she is now past the 2 month mark and had her 2 month well baby check up.  She weighs 9 lbs 10 oz. and has grown to 21 1/2 inches long!! She is in the 25th percentile on both.  She is also a  very social baby.  She smiled and talked to the doctor the whole time we were in the office.  I love seeing her smile, is makes me teary eyed still.  She also loves to watch her big brother.  I will lay her on the floor and Owen will show her all her toys and she just follows him with her eyes the whole time.  Owen loves it when she looks at him too, he will jump up and say “Mommy! Evie look me!”  It is the sweetest thing.  I love my babies.

This past weekend Landon and Sylvia got married and it was a beautiful wedding.   Owen was the ringbearer and Georgia was one of the flower girls.  They both did great for 2 year olds and made it all the way down the aisle.  After the wedding we tried to get as many pictures as we could Owen in his tux and Georgia in her dress, here is what we managed.

These were good but then there was the diamond in the rough…this is the best picture of the bunch!!!  It belongs on a greeting card!!

 

Leave a comment